Naviator Forums

The Navigation Solution for Android Aviators

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Become a fan of Naviator!
For urgent issues please use our Contact Form.
Naviator version 3.9.1 is now available. Click here for details.
New: We are pleased to offer complementary annual subscriptions to pilots who hold a valid CFI certificate issued by the FAA. Click here for details.

#1 2014-Dec-08 11:12 am

Mike
Administrator
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2011-Mar-16
Posts: 1,206
Website

Naviator 3.2.7

Naviator version 3.2.7 has been released to the Play Store. Edit: A newer version is now available here.

New in version 3.2.7
• Bug fixes

New in version 3.2.1:
• Improved support for Android 'Lollipop' devices
• A brand new look for the user interface
• Added support for the Nexus 9 and other 64-bit devices
• Added Flight Service stations to the 'Nearest Waypoints' screen
• Added 'Nearest Weather Broadcasts' to the 'Nearest Waypoints' screen (ex. nearest ATIS, AWOS, etc.)
• Added an 'aircraft callsign' setting for ADS-B traffic, intended to help reduce the amount of false traffic alerts
• Added support for NavWorx WiFi ADS-B receivers
• Various other bug fixes

Note: This version and future versions of Naviator require Android 4.0 or higher.

Cheers,
Mike

Offline

#2 2014-Dec-08 2:24 pm

rotrhead
Member
Registered: 2011-Aug-27
Posts: 178

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

Are the ATC center Frequencies still in the works for the Nearest Screen ?

Last edited by rotrhead (2014-Dec-09 5:30 pm)

Offline

#3 2014-Dec-10 10:38 am

Mike
Administrator
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2011-Mar-16
Posts: 1,206
Website

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

Yes, those are still in the works.

-Mike

Offline

#4 2014-Dec-15 3:41 pm

tailwindcfi
Member
From: Pearland, Texas
Registered: 2012-Mar-25
Posts: 22
Website

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

I just updated and used 3.2.3 for the first time this morning.  Running my Motorola Xoom and Dual XGPS170 with ADS-B.  ADS-B showed 8 stations coming in.  The screen showed ADS-B ok and radar 0 minutes old. All looked good until I went to the weather tab of my destination airport and got a message that there was no internet connection and weather could not be displayed.

I usually run my tablet in "airplane" mode - the gps works and I turn bluetooth back on and I've used naviator like that for years.  I turned 4g back on and started getting some weather, but it is unclear to me whether the weather was coming from 4G or ADS-B.  In all previous releases I have not had to have 4G/data turned on to get weather.  Is this a bug or is there something new that I don't know?  Trying to get metars from airpports along the route also did not work.

I hope there is an easy fix for this.
thanks,
Valerie

Offline

#5 2014-Dec-15 4:02 pm

Mike
Administrator
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2011-Mar-16
Posts: 1,206
Website

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

Hi Valerie. It looks like this got lost in the the shuffle during the user-interface redesign. I'll add this capability back for the next release, which will be available sometime this week. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Cheers,
Mike

Offline

#6 2014-Dec-16 9:34 am

flyzone
Member
Registered: 2012-Oct-04
Posts: 223

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

I am seeing some of the METAR flags but it looks like others, maybe the automated METARS, have been dropped out? The most important thing for me using Naviator is the ADS-B weather so I kind of miss these if that is what has happened.

Offline

#7 2014-Dec-16 10:23 am

Mike
Administrator
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2011-Mar-16
Posts: 1,206
Website

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

Hmmm I'm not sure why that would be happening. We haven't changed the data source for the metars at all in the new version - all we've changed is the their presentation in the user interface. I'm still seeing at least some automated metars, such as the one at KAWO. Do you have any specific examples of metars that are no longer available?

Thanks,
Mike

Offline

#8 2014-Dec-16 11:29 am

flyzone
Member
Registered: 2012-Oct-04
Posts: 223

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

KMQS (Coatesville, Pa). I am pretty sure it was there before.

Offline

#9 2014-Dec-16 11:47 am

Mike
Administrator
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2011-Mar-16
Posts: 1,206
Website

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

The metar 'flags' will only be shown for metars that include ceiling and visibility reports. In the case of KMQS, it's missing both of these. If you tap on the KMQS airport, you will still be able to see the metar, even though it's not drawn on the map.

KMQS 161835Z AUTO 12005KT 06/06 RMK AO2 P0008 PWINO

Cheers,
Mike

Offline

#10 2014-Dec-16 11:58 am

flyzone
Member
Registered: 2012-Oct-04
Posts: 223

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

I see. I know I've seen it before since it is a nearby airport so assumed a METAR is a METAR ... guess not. I had been able to click thru to see it as you mentioned. Sorry for the goose chase.

Offline

#11 2014-Dec-17 9:16 am

tailwindcfi
Member
From: Pearland, Texas
Registered: 2012-Mar-25
Posts: 22
Website

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

thanks Mike.  I know it must be a lot of work keeping this program going.  One request, would it be possible to add winds aloft from the ADS-B source.  I don't think that has been available on Naviator.  BTW, the flight following function is pretty cool.

Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas,
Valerie

Offline

#12 2014-Dec-22 5:29 am

tailwindcfi
Member
From: Pearland, Texas
Registered: 2012-Mar-25
Posts: 22
Website

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

The weather is now working again with the ads-b.  Thanks for the quick fix!
Valerie

Offline

#13 2015-Feb-07 4:22 am

phuongsfc
Member
Registered: 2011-May-29
Posts: 26

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

Hi Mike!
I have the problem for active the program: The message: "user account has exceeded"
Please open it again for me.

Thanks

Offline

#14 2015-Feb-07 7:16 am

bille
Member
Registered: 2012-Feb-26
Posts: 39

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

phuongsfc, you can fix this yourself through "Naviator Hanger -> My Hanger -> Account Settings -> Reset Devices".

(http://hangar.naviatorapp.com/)

Last edited by bille (2015-Feb-07 7:19 am)

Offline

#15 2015-Feb-17 9:02 pm

joemurffy
Member
Registered: 2011-Jul-03
Posts: 23

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

tailwindcfi wrote:

I just updated and used 3.2.3 for the first time this morning.  Running my Motorola Xoom and Dual XGPS170 with ADS-B.  ADS-B showed 8 stations coming in.

Valarie, where were you that you're getting 8 stations with your XGPS170?  What antenna are you using and what altitude were you at?  I'm in Iowa, but have flown to Florida with it at about 9000', and have not seen that many stations.  I'm using the stock antenna and thinking about getting something to mount on the bottom of the plane.  I very often see zero stations.

Thanks,
Joe
N115CC

Offline

#16 2015-Feb-18 6:21 pm

rash
Member
Registered: 2013-Mar-19
Posts: 76

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

I was also getting very spotty reception in my plane with the 170's stock antenna. My A&P & I installed an external antenna, and it's made all the difference - I start picking up stations at about 100 agl, and constantly see 5 to 6 or more at 2-3k agl, sometimes 7 or 8. (I'm in central NC.) I bought a RAMI AV-74 from spruce, RG-400 cable, and an SMA-to-BNC adapter to hook it up to the 170.

Also, for anyone interested, I've since been "collecting" ground station locations (I wrote some utilities to collect & parse the ADS-B data stream). It's much more high-res than what's on the FAA site, but I only have the areas where I've flown since having the 170...
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid= … Ep4mega8fo

(Picture of my installation: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_WmTl … sp=sharing )

Offline

#17 2015-Mar-25 12:05 pm

sebax
Member
Registered: 2012-Nov-19
Posts: 2

Re: Naviator 3.2.7

Hi! I thought this release should solve the database update issues (per "Data update process is broken" thread by jdekonty).. but it still takes forever to download the database.
I haven't been able to update since a while, is there any manual way to download it in a computer and then load it to the phone? Thanks.

Last edited by sebax (2015-Mar-25 12:15 pm)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB