Naviator Forums

The Navigation Solution for Android Aviators

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Become a fan of Naviator!
For urgent issues please use our Contact Form.
Naviator version 3.9.1 is now available. Click here for details.
New: We are pleased to offer complementary annual subscriptions to pilots who hold a valid CFI certificate issued by the FAA. Click here for details.

#1 2018-Feb-23 10:42 am

TFA170

Different tablets = different menu options??

I've got the latest version of Naviator running on two different tablets.  One is a Samsung Galaxy Tab-A 8.0" and the other is a Huawei MediaTab T3 7"

On the Samsung, which I've been using for almost two years, I can have an additional two rows of customizable info across the top of the screen I can pull down and hide.  I can't seem to get that option on the Huawei.  Also, I can't get split screen on the Huawei.  I needed the Huawei for its size - it's the smallest 7" tablet going, pretty much, and I'm using it in the tiny cockpit of a Midget Mustang with almost zero panel space, so I need to figure out how to get either the tabs across the top, or split screen.

On the split screen, the Huawei is only running Android 6.0, so I know that's part of the problem and unless I can upgrade the firmware to 7.0, I'm stuck w/o split screen.  But I could make do with the extra tabs across the top if I could get them to display.  Unfortunately, even the menu is different.  Touching the three dots on the top right of the Samsung reveals a long menu list:

Search / Split Screen / Unlock Screen / Map Preferences / Add Waypoint / Reverse Route / Clear Route / Load Route / Save Route / Export GPX / File and Brief (DUATS) / File and Brief (AFSS) / Import Route >

While on the Huawei, I only have four menu options:

Search / View Route / Unlock Screen / Map Preferences

So, my question is, what's the difference?  Both are running Naviator 3.9.0 - is it the Android version that is causing this? (my hunch)